How to create a list of field trips attended

pniven12

Hi - I'm a Gifted Education teacher that takes small groups of students on a ton of different field trips throughout the school year. Not all of the kids attend all of the trips.

At the end of the year, I'd like to create a list for each individual student of the field trips they attended for the year. Short of copying and pasting, is there an easier way?
I was thinking if I could use a drop down list that contained all of the field trips and another that contained the students, I would select one student, then select only the trips they attended, in the end creating a list of the students name and the trips attended so I can print out. :confused:

Currently I have the kids names in Cells A3-A30, the trips in D1-DF1, and a "1" in the cell if that student attended that trip. Hope this makes sense...... :eek:

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Welcome to the forum.

If I understand correctly, your main sheet looks like this:
ABCDEFGHIJK
1NameZooMarine ParkHikingStock MarketComputer LabISSSealab
3Andy111111
4Beth111
5Cal111
6Dawn11
7Eric1111
8Felice111
9Gary111
10Halle11111

<tbody>
</tbody>
Sheet1

If so, you can set up a second sheet like this:

ABC
1NameTrips taken
2HalleMarine Park
3Hiking
4Stock Market
5ISS
6Sealab

<tbody>
</tbody>
Sheet2

Array Formulas
CellFormula
C2{=IF(C1="","",IFERROR(INDEX(Sheet1!$1:$1,SMALL(IF(OFFSET(Sheet1!$D$1:$DF$1,MATCH($A$2,Sheet1!$A$1:$A$30,0)-1,0)=1,COLUMN($D$1:$DF$1)),ROWS($C$2:$C2))),""))}

<tbody>
</tbody>
Entered with Ctrl+Shift+Enter. If entered correctly, Excel will surround with curly braces {}.
Note: Do not try and enter the {} manually yourself

<tbody>
</tbody>

In A2, set up a Data Validation set to List, with Source =Sheet1!$A$3:$A$30