How to find a number manually entered in a cell and then copy and paste it to another cell

Mike Guest98

Hi

I’m a newbie to Excel and have spent many hours with no luck on this one. I’m trying to find the location of a manually entered number, 1 to 10 is the choice. So the number gets entered in cell C17, say number 4 as an example.

Using VBA I need it to search the following 5 column locations: C30 TO C50, E30 TO E50, G30 TO G50, H30 TO H50 AND L30 TO L50. Each column has a number 4 but only one 4 has a value in the cell to the right of it. So as an example IF it finds 4 in C30 and a value in D30 it is a positive (if their was no value in D30 it would be negative).

Now I need the value in cell D30 to be copied and pasted in cell F10.

The end

Thanks in a advance for any help.
Mike

<style type="text/css">p { margin-bottom: 0.1in; line-height: 115%; }</style>

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Try this it shoulkd get you started but it is untested:
Code:
Sub test()
Dim colno(1 To 5) As Long
colno(1) = 3
colno(2) = 5
colno(3) = 7
colno(4) = 8
colno(5) = 12

inarr = Range(Cells(1, 1), Cells(50, 13))
 chkno = Cells(17, 3)
 fnd = False
 For i = 1 To 5
   For j = 30 To 50
     If (inarr(j, colno(i)) = chkno) And (inarr(j, colno(i) + 1) <> "") Then
       Cells(10, 6) = inarr(j, colno(i) + 1)
       fnd = True
       Exit For
     End If
   Next j
  If fnd Then Exit For
 Next i

End Sub

Upvote 0
It didn't work when I tested the answer so rewrote the problem.

I’m a newbie to Excel and have spent many hours with no luck on this one. Using actual cell locations here is the project:

1) In cell C17 I enter one number, can any number from 1 to 10. Lets say I choose the number 4 as an example.