IF [find value in a column] THEN [copy values from multiple different columns] with VBA

bobbyj1234

Hi,

I am new to this Forum and very new to using VBA in excel, so please excuse my lack of proper vocabulary or knowledge.

I am a film editor and we have EDLs that show us all of the cuts in a film with time codes in and out - an excel workbook of the movie. We have a separate document called an ALE, which shows all of the info for each clip - without the time codes in and out. More of an excel key. When an EDL is created we are limited to an 8 character identifier, therefore we create 6-8 character codes to represent clips. These clips are used in multiple locations and can be present in the worksheet in 20 - 30 different rows if the clip is used multiple times in the film:

ES_2232M
ES_2235M
ES_2240M
ES_2309
ES_2241
ES_2034

These codes then need to be replaced by the clip's full name:

ES_2232M_NationalGeographic_118799_19351111.jpg
ES_2235M_NationalGeographic_530520_19351111.jpg
ES_2240M_NationalGeographic_581958_19351111.jpg
ES_2309_NationalGeographic_259913_19351111.jpg
ES_2241_NationalGeographic_1002867_19351111.jpg
ES_2034_NationalGeographic_259913_19351111.jpg

I have used this VBA to copy over the clip's full names correctly: (does require making two columns with the code and file name)

Attribute VB_Name = "Module1"Sub MultiFindNReplace()
'Update 20140722
Dim Rng As Range
Dim InputRng As Range, ReplaceRng As Range
xTitleId = "KutoolsforExcel"
Set InputRng = Application.Selection
Set InputRng = Application.InputBox("Original Range ", xTitleId, InputRng.Address, Type:=8)
Set ReplaceRng = Application.InputBox("Replace Range :", xTitleId, Type:=8)
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
For Each Rng In ReplaceRng.Columns(1).Cells
InputRng.Replace what:=Rng.Value, replacement:=Rng.Offset(0, 1).Value
Next
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

<tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>