Linking 2 workbooks and using linked cells in calculations

Paris2016

Hello.

I am fairly new to building complex Excel spreadsheets so I could really use your help :)

This is also my first question, so if there's anything I forget please let me know so I can do better in the future ;)

My first project on my new job is to create a daily Sales document that I want to link to yesterday’s version of the same document for calculating changes between yesterday and today.

There are several tabs for several different points of Sales and 1 sheet combining all together for a total.

Per sheet I would like to do it by product. Each tab has the same number and sequence of products.

Unfortunately I’m not at all sure how to approach this.

My main goal is that by linking the 2 worksheets, I would not need to update the formulas every day. The links would be needed in the formula.

I am using Excel version 2013 and am not very familiar with VBA.

Honestly, I don’t even know where to start.

Is there any (fairly) simple solution that you could recommend me? Or even a starting point? ;)

I would be extremely grateful for your help and advice on how to handle this project!!!

If needed I will upload what I have so far. Let me know.

Many thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
Can you be precise about the file(s) you're dealing with?

Is there a separate file that contains yesterday's figures or are they added to a new worksheet in the same workbook? In either case do they have the same structure in terms of either their file name or tab name?

If you have a separate file (TEST-30-01-2016) you can call a cell (F1) contents into your other sheet by using:
='[TEST-30-01-2016.xlsx]Entry'!$F$1
Thus if you have a standard format you could use the indirect commend to "build" that file name
=indirect("'[TEST-&something to build the date ref&".xlsx]Entry'!$F$1