Loop: Do Until Fill Color is 16 Debug Error

ryger48

Hello everyone,

I am familiar with a few coding languages, including PHP, C++, etc, however I am new to Excel and VBA. I am attempting to create a do-while/do-until loop which stays in the same column, and keeps descending row to row until it hits a Gray-filled cell, at which point it takes the value of that cell and returns it. The data looks something like this:

Sam47344358

Mark23443236534523434

<tbody>
</tbody>

(It was easier in this post to change the font color instead of the fill color, but you get the idea). Also, the number of rows between names varies. What I have written so far is this:

Code:
Function checkFill()

Dim i As Integer
Dim AHT As Integer

i = 0

Do While Cells(i, 5).Interior.ColorIndex > 0
    If Cells(i, 5).Interior.ColorIndex = 16 Then
        AHT = Cells(i, 5).Value
        Exit Do
    End If
    i = i + 1
Loop

End Function

Should I use a function here, or sub? Also, I keep getting an "Application-defined or object-defined error" message. What am I doing wrong/is there an easier way?

Thanks in advance for any help with this, I greatly appreciate it!

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Welcome to the MrExcel board!

1. You are getting the error with the following line ..

Do While Cells(i, 5).Interior.ColorIndex > 0

.. because the first time the code gets to that line i=0. That is, you are trying to check the colour of a cell in row 0, which doesn't exist.
So you could set i=1 to start to solve that.

2. If your non-gray cells have no fill then your code will finish prematurely because the interior.colorindex will return -4142 for a non-filled cell.
There could be various ways to fix that, also depending on the next piont.