Macro saving file with Owner locking (another user). How to remove it???

ginner159

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
15
Hi all,

Ive made a macro for work that saves old 2007 .xls files to the new 2010 .xlxs file format. the problem im having is that the file created by the macro is saved on a network and is showing a message when opened that the file is locked for editing by 'another user'.

The message can be removed if i click on 'notify' then wait a min or two for the 'read-write' box to appear, then save and exit . when i reopen it / someone else opens it the message no longer appears.

Is there a way to remove/stop this from happening as it is really inconvenient for me to have to open then re-save a file that has just been created (there are 100's of files to go through)

I know this may have come up somewhere before but ive searched google for a good hour and cannot seem to find a fix.

Thanks in advance
Matt
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,123,295
Messages
5,600,789
Members
414,405
Latest member
Zaurb

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top