Macro to hide/unhide sheets based on date

A_Dub_Green

Hello, I see that there are several threads based on this topic, but being a novice Macro user, I don't feel comfortable using a previously posted code and trying to alter it for my purposes. I was wondering if anyone could assist me. I'm trying to set up a worksheet that will only show the tab for the current day. The tab will be named according to each day's date, and each worksheet will also contain the day's date in cell C1. I'm pretty sure that this is something simple, but like I said, I'm a novice. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells
Pressing Ctrl+* (asterisk) will select the "current region" - all contiguous cells in all directions.
If you want the code to automatically run when the workbook is opened then place this code in the ThisWorkbook module:

Code:
Private Sub Workbook_Open()
    Dim ws As Worksheet
    Dim oName As Variant

oName = Format(Date, "mm-dd-yy")
    For Each ws In Worksheets
        If Not ws.Name = oName Then ws.Visible = xlSheetHidden
    Next ws
End Sub

This requires that the sheets be named in the "MM-DD-YY format. If they are named differently then change that section of the code to match the format that the sheets are named.

Upvote 0
Thank you so much for the quick response. Unfortunately, when I pasted the code in, it didn't work. Perhaps there is something that I need to do before hand. I've renamed each tab in the "MM-DD-YY" format and put the date in each worksheet in cell C1. Right now, I have all the tabs showing, but I would only want the tab for 12-06-11 showing as that is today's date.

Upvote 0