Macro to open files in a folder, search a column for criteria, and copy those rows to a master sheet

sgeng4

Hello =)

I need help making a macro. I have a bunch of files in a folder, and I am trying to organize them. In sheet(2) column B in those files, there is a name. Basically if the name starts with MC / mc / Mc, I want the macro to copy over that name to a master, as well as its value from column sheet(2) column G, a date from wbk.Sheets(1).Range("C7"), a certificate number from wbk.Sheets(1).Range("F7"), and a link to the file.

Below is what I have been messing with, however I'm not very good at VBA. I appreciate any help.

Code:
Sub CopyMCsOverToMaster()
   'DECLARE AND SET VARIABLES
   Dim wbk As Workbook
   Dim Sht As Worksheet
   Dim FileName As String
   Dim Path As String
   Dim Cl As Range
   Dim Rng As Range
   Dim Cnt As Long

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

With Application.FileDialog(4)
       .Show
       Path = .SelectedItems(1) & "\"
   End With

FileName = Dir(Path & "*.xls*")

Do While Len(FileName) > 0
         Set wbk = Workbooks.Open(Path & FileName)

'unhide all worksheets
             For Each WS In ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets
             WS.Visible = xlSheetVisible
             Next WS

Cnt = Cnt + 1
         Set Sht = wbk.Sheets(4)        'Looks for assays in sheet 4
         If wbk.Sheets(4).Range("B2").Value Like "*MC*" Then  ' If value is MC
               .Item(Rng.Value).Offset(, 0).Value = wbk.Sheets(4).Range(, 0).Value      ' adds the MC name to column A
               .Item(Rng.Value).Offset(, 5).Value = Rng.Offset(, 5).Value               'adds the value to the master
               .Item(Rng.Value).Offset(, 10).Value = wbk.Sheets(1).Range("C7").Value   ' adds the date to the master
               .Item(Rng.Value).Offset(, 11).Value = wbk.Sheets(1).Range("F7").Value    'add the certificate to the master
                WS.Range.Offset(a, 2).Value = c.Address