Make a table of tables according to date and time

Krakas95

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello, I am a newbie in excel, I am a C. Sc. graduate and doing my internship now. I have only used a few formulas and varius sort and rules.
I have 2 tables (2 companies) that contain almost the same data and is sorted according to date, then time and then is the date of each. I want to check that the data between them are correct or similar. I brute force it, by checking the difference between the 2 rows. If the diff is 0 or in a range of - 5 to 5 then the data is correct. One problem that occurs is in the 2nd table we have anomalies (random 0s and 1s) which are removed by rules. The biggest problem is that the second table the data might not be ordered perfectly since the first table is ordered according to seconds but the 2nd is just minutes and not seconds, and I have to check each number by it self. We have for example 10 rows for each minute and 1000 for each hour and since it is not order the diffs are messed up.

My programming approach is to break the 2 tables into smaller tables according to date and then according to time and check the diff of each element on the 1st with each on the 2nd. If the results are in the range above then it is correct. Anomalies should be entered in a new table.

This is just an idea but since I never used excel before I am lost, any help? My colleagues are brute forcing there way in this for 5 years and called me to find a way hahahahaha!!

Thank you very much

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Have you got some sample data perhaps? Given that the sample frequency is not the same, how do you currently decide if samples with seconds interval match with samples with minutes interval?

Upvote 0