My array formula is counting blanks as zero - how do I differentiate?

lincolnshep

Hi,

I'm trying to find the row number of the last cell in an array that is equal to zero but is not blank. My array is one column wide and 38 rows deep (K6:K43). The top 1 to x rows will always have a value (0, 3, 5 or 7) and the bottom x+1 to 38 rows will always be blank.

I've tried:
{=MAX(IF(K6:K43=0,ROW(K6:K43)))} : this returns 43 (which suggests it's counting the blanks as zero)
{=MAX(IF(AND(K6:K43=0,K6:K43<>""),ROW(K6:K43)))} : this returns 0

I'm obviously missing something (I'm quite new to array formulae) so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and regards,
Shep

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
Hello XOR LX,

{=MAX(IF(+K6:K43=0,ROW(K6:K43)))} is also returning 43 (i.e. the last blank in the range, rather than the last zero in the range) but, for my own interest, what does adding the "+" do to the formula?

Thanks,
Shep

Upvote 0
I'm trying to find the row number of the last cell in an array that is equal to zero but is not blank. My array is one column wide and 38 rows deep (K6:K43). The top 1 to x rows will always have a value (0, 3, 5 or 7) and the bottom x+1 to 38 rows will always be blank.
This?

=5+COUNT(K6:K43)

Upvote 0
{=MAX(IF(+K6:K43=0,ROW(K6:K43)))} is also returning 43 (i.e. the last blank in the range, rather than the last zero in the range)

Apologies. I made the assumption that your "blanks" were actually null strings, i.e. "".

Use:

=MAX(IF(ISNUMBER(K6:K43),IF(K6:K43=0,ROW(K6:K43))))

which will work no matter whether the blanks are "genuine" blanks or the null string "".

Regards

Upvote 0
Hi Peter,
I'm looking for cells that equal zero, COUNT will give me all cells with numbers regardless of value.
Thanks,
Shep
Yes, sorry, I misinterpreted your question.