Need help - newbie with outer/inner joins issue

calcal

Hi,

I am new to using SQL/Access. I am trying to build a query that produces a "bill of materials" for a store remodel. The content of the bill of materials should change based on the type of the store or the type of item (either I need to add items or add additional detail or spec to an item).

For instance, If one of the items listed is an open refrigerator and the refrigerator goes into a store that is not open 24 hours, I should pull the additional spec from the specs table (the additional spec says something like "night curtains required".

So the following query is giving me a syntax error (as soon as I remove the 24hr condition the error goes away but the query brings the "night curtains required" for all the stores, which is not the point).

SELECT Quantities.Store_no, Quantities.Section, Quantities.ItemID, Quantities.Quantity, specs.detail<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
FROM (storeItemsquantities AS quantities LEFT OUTER JOIN basic_rules_specs AS specs ON quantities.itemID=specs.itemID) INNER JOIN concept_matrix AS cmatrix ON quantities.store_no = cmatrix.store_no and cmatrix.24hrs=’N’;<o:p></o:p>

FYI: concept_matrix is the table that contains store information. Quantities is the table that contains the "rough" bill of materials.

I have also tried to do the left outer join with the cmatrix table but I get the same result.

Can anyone help me, please? I running out of ideas. If there is a better way to build the query please let me know as well, since I am new to Access and SQL.

Thank you!!

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
Welcome to the forum,

It would be handed to see the database or sample but you can't attach a copy through this forum.