Outlook does not recognize names when email triggered from Macro

vijayendra.shukla

Hi MrExcel members,

I am new to the VB Scripting and this is my first ever post on any forums:).

Ok here i go with my problem -

I have written one macro which sends automatic email notification when certain condition is not fulfilled. This macro basically tracks a particular activity to be performed by each project member (no of project members is around 35). Each one of us have been given a unique user id which is mapped to the email address of that person. E.g. mine is XYvs9, where XY are constant and do not change and V and S are starting letters for my initials and surname. So following this pattern is someone with the same intial and last name joins the project, he/she is assigned in the same way like a8vs10 and so on...

i have stored all these user id's within the excel and taking reference to these user ids i am performing some validation and sending the email. If you manually type this user id in To/Cc box of Outlook, these user ids are autopopulated with the corresponding email ids. Yesterday when i ran my code i faced a weird situation where macro threw me the error "Outlook does not recognize one or more names.". After lots of research and ending up with no solution from web, I myself figured out Outlook is not able to resolve the user id-email mapping for particular users. When i researched more, I figured out a pattern where it was failing.