Please i need your help to create formula

mikie1881

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
11
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows
I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%.

Thank you in advance

Michell
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.

JoeMo

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
17,059
Office Version
365, 2010
Platform
Windows
Putting a formula in B8 that refers to B8 will create a circular reference. I suspect that's not what you want. Can you explain what you are trying to do?
 

RayFrye

Board Regular
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
81
Office Version
365, 2019
JoeMo is correct, your notion will cause a circular reference.

However, you can put this formula (=B8*(B1*0.1)) in C8 (or where ever) and calculate based on B1 and B8.
 

mikie1881

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
11
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

ok, sorry because i have no experiance in excell. and my english is not good as well so , i have an excell that calculate some values in simple, in B8 there is a value that must be multiplyied with the value on B7 wihch the value ( B7) changes from 1to3 , if is 1 means 10% , 2 means 20% 3 means 30%. , the results goes to cell B9. I hope to be understanding my text. Regards michell
 

JoeMo

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
17,059
Office Version
365, 2010
Platform
Windows
ok, sorry because i have no experiance in excell. and my english is not good as well so , i have an excell that calculate some values in simple, in B8 there is a value that must be multiplyied with the value on B7 wihch the value ( B7) changes from 1to3 , if is 1 means 10% , 2 means 20% 3 means 30%. , the results goes to cell B9. I hope to be understanding my text. Regards michell
Maybe put this formula in B9:
=(B8*B7*0.1)
 

mikie1881

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
11
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

I Thank you all for your answers ,apreciate a lot. Best Regards Michell
 

Tarver

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 15, 2012
Messages
70
How about this? This formula can't go in cell B1 or B8, but it can go anyplace else.

=IF(B1=1,B8*.1,IF(B1=2,B8*.2,IF(B1=3,B8*.3,"ERROR, B1 isn't 1, 2, or 3.")))
 

mikie1881

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
11
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows
=IF(B1=1,B8*.1,IF(B1=2,B8*.2,IF(B1=3,B8*.3,"ERROR, B1 isn't 1, 2, or 3.")))
I try to add that you sent me but i got error message , mybe i make mistake but i just copy-paste your formula in cell B10 ,
 

mikie1881

New Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
11
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows
I will try to explain better this time.
Cel B7 the value manually changes from 1 to 2 or 3
Cell B8 the value in this cell comes from a calculation on B1.
In Cell 9 i want the value of Cell B8 * Cell B7 ( if B7 =1 then *10% if B7=2 then*20% if B7=3 then *30%

I hope I did not tire you.
Thank you again
 

Subscribe on YouTube

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,106,107
Messages
5,509,259
Members
408,719
Latest member
padapinto

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Turn fraction around
    Hello I need to turn a fraction around, for example I have 1/3 but I need to present as 3/1
  • TIme Clock record reformatting to ???
    Hello All, I'd like some help formatting this (Tbl-A)(Loaded via Power Query) [ATTACH type="full" width="511px" alt="PQdata.png"]22252[/ATTACH]...
  • TextBox Match
    hi, I am having a few issues with my code below, what I need it to do is when they enter a value in textbox8 (QTY) either 1,2 or 3 the 3 textboxes...
  • Using Large function based on Multiple Criteria
    Hello, I can't seem to get a Large formula to work based on two criteria's. I can easily get a oldest value based one value, but I'm struggling...
  • Can you check my code please
    Hi, Im going round in circles with a Compil Error End With Without With Here is the code [CODE=rich] Private Sub...
  • Combining 2 pivot tables into 1 chart
    Hello everyone, My question sounds simple but I do not know the answer. I have 2 pivot tables and 2 charts that go with this. However I want to...
Top