Power Query - Hyperlink to file

DaveyD

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
29
I have a power query setup that imports tables from all excel files in a folder.
Is it possible to have a column that contains a link to the original excel file?

[I have this working in a regular excel table using the hyperlink function (which uses the customer name to get to the correct file). Now I want to convert that table to a power query table which makes automation much easier!]

Is it possible to get this automated with power query in any way?

Thanks,
David
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).

sandy666

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
5,730
PowerQuery doesn't support links - result will be text always
 

DaveyD

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
29
Ok, thank you
Is there any workaround?

In any case, a "No" is better than more hours wasted on trying... ;)
 

sandy666

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
5,730
if the result of Query will be loaded into the sheet - it's possible but remeber that if you refresh your result (query)-table you will lost hyperlink.

you can use: =HYPERLINK("link_location")
1. add prefix: =HYPERLINK("
2. add suffix: ")
3. load to the sheet
4. replace = with = (yes this is the same equal sign)
and you'll get hyperlink but as I said above, each refresh remove hyperlink and you need repeat replace = to =
 
Last edited:

sandy666

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
5,730
I forgot: link_location: full path\filename
 

DaveyD

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
29
Thanks - this worked for me.
I created a button that runs a function to refresh the query and replace the = sign
Works perfectly!
Thanks
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,101,817
Messages
5,483,080
Members
407,378
Latest member
swanbrown

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top