Searching for partial match in one list against another-help needed

NFaraci

Hello,

Thanks in advance for any help. I'm relatively new to Excel and have been stuck on this issue for weeks. No search that I've done has yielded quite the results that I need.

Looking to search a list of addresses against another static list of addresses and return results even when there is a partial match. Would be looking for exact matches, but those will be rare, so also looking for matches based on street name. Illustrated below:

AddressSecond Address
123 Main St111 181st Apt 3B
456 Broadway454 Broadway
789 Maple Ave123 Main St
13 181st St 444 Alpine St
444 Alpine BlvdClinton & Broadway Ste 4

<tbody>
</tbody>

Work done so far was to Text To Columns on the Second Address to parse for the street name and then used various searching features against the Address list. Considered using IF statements to write a lengthy list of exclusions to NOT match to as a start. Would prefer if at all possible to not just show when there are matches (such as highlight duplicates) but to see what cells are matching to each other in the returned value.

Also looking to build a sheet that could do this ongoing with a new Second Address list pasted on a weekly basis. The list would contain ~30,000 entries each week to judge against the Address list (~700 total entries).

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
do any street names contain numbers?

Upvote 0
Yes, the street names will contain numbers, such as the 181st St example above. That had stopped me for now from being able to simply exclude any number from my search.

Upvote 0
Yes that is EXACTLY why I was asking.

Q Am I correct in thinking that all numbers that are street names are suffixed with one of these 4 strings "st" "nd" "rd" "th" (ie ordinal numbers) ?