Hi all,

Im a newbie here and really struggling.

I have a master list of products
eg.
code product vegetarian contains gluten
1234 tomato Y N
5678 bacon N N
2468 bread Y Y

I'm using a vlookup to transfer this to another sheet and this is working so it pulls through items from the master list of products, however - and my problem is when i try to "sum" the column. I want a total column where if i try to "add" rows it will give me a yes or no over any number of items

ie.
1234 tomato Y N
5678 bacon N N
TOTAL Y N

Please can someone help? will answer questions too.

Cheers

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
Hi, welcome to the board.

What do mean by this exactly ?
I want a total column where if i try to "add" rows it will give me a yes or no over any number of items

Looking at your example, why are the TOTALS Y and N ? Why not N and N for example ?

Upvote 0
Hi all,

Im a newbie here and really struggling.

I have a master list of products
eg.
1234 tomato Y N
5678 bacon N N
2468 bread Y Y

I'm using a vlookup to transfer this to another sheet and this is working so it pulls through items from the master list of products, however - and my problem is when i try to "sum" the column. I want a total column where if i try to "add" rows it will give me a yes or no over any number of items

ie.
1234 tomato Y N
5678 bacon N N
TOTAL Y N

Please can someone help? will answer questions too.

Cheers
It's not entirely clear what you're asking but if you want the Total row to be Total Count(Y) Count(N)

then in C4 =COUNTIF(C1:C3,"Y") and in D4 =COUNTIF(D1:D3,"N")

Will give

1234 tomato Y N
5678 bacon N N
2468 bread Y Y
Totals 2 2

Upvote 0
Apologies I've realised the flaw in my description of the problem.