Timelines/stacked bar charts

smurrells

I have read lots of information regarding timelines,stacked bar charts, gannt charts, but have not been succesful in displaying information I require.

I have a certain number of projects on the go at once, all at different stages. I want to be able to display all these stages at once for each project together based on the actual or expected dates.

To give an example: Say I was a housing developer (I'm not!) and had 5 different houses I was working on. I would want a chart that would display each of these 5 houses as a seperate series. For each house I would want to know when the plans would be submitted to planning, when a decision is expected, when I could start construction and when people could move in.
So I would want a stacked bar chart, the first stage, say up to Dec '09 is pre-planning, before planning in Dec '09. The next stage is awaiting a decision until July'10 when a decision is expected. Third stage is construction etc

So from the sketches I have, a stacked bar chart should be possible. Time on the X axis, hopefully a continuos data series. On the Y axis would be my 5 projects and the stacked bars would show pre-planning taking up until Dec '09 then awaiting decision until July '10.

This will allow me to see where all projects are in time relativeto each other.

If anyone can help me work out how to create such a chart I would be most grateful.

Regards,

Simon Murrells

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.

smurrells

I've had a look at the Gaant chart information on the website suggested as well as looking for other information on there. Can't seem to find anything that would suggest that Instead of having seperate tasks I can have several projects in one chart with the different tasks/stages(that are independent of each other).