trying to get a VB module to work

twiggin

Hello,

I've been trying to calculate a weighted average and weighted standard deviation in Excel 2007/Windows 7. Since there is no formula for it I looked for one on the web and found a UDF that I copied into a VB module. It worked and I got the result I was looking for. I saved the workbook as a macro-enabled workbook. I may have done some other things in the process that messed things up because...
When I next opened the workbook the results were no longer there, instead there was a #NAME error in each cell.
I checked and the modules were still there, and when I typed "=WtStd" the formula showed up in a drop down list. I tried deleting the modules and copying the code in again as a new module with no luck.
I'm brand new to working with VB and modules, so I imagine there may be something really obvious that I'm not doing. I thought maybe there was a way to have modules apply to some workbooks and not others that I missed, but I couldn't see anything to that effect.
Any help you can give me would be most appreciated.

Tom

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Did you possibly save the macro in a module of your personal macro workbook instead of the workbook in which the formula is located...?

Upvote 0
If your workbook has an xlsx extension, it means you saved it in a format that does not allow (and strips) macros, and you missed the warning about losing your macro.

In that case, you'll need to install it again, and then save the workbook as an xlsm.

Upvote 0
hi and thanks for responding,

the workbook is saved as .xlsm. Looking in the VBAProject window, the modules are saved in a folder branching from the workbook I'm working in.