Trying to highlight lowest 3 values in a row, all with different colors

ItisRue

I am having issues finding a way to highlight the lowest three values using conditional formatting. I have done the top 3 values with mostly success, although, I have found that if there are two "#2" values, it doesn't highlight the 3rd, it just highlights the #1 and 2 #2's... Quite perplexing.

But, with regard to my question at hand, I am looking to highlight the 3 lowest scores on a list, all in a row. I have used "=SMALL(A3:A10, 3)", =SMALL(A3:A10, 2)", and "=SMALL(A3:A10, 1)" in hopes that this would work. All it returns to me is one color. Anyone have any advice?

Oh, and I am fairly new to this, so please bear with me if I am not using the correct terminology.

Thanks, in advance, for any help!

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".
Did you set up three different rules? each for the smallest, 2nd smallest and third 3rd smallest?

Upvote 0
If you setup three different rules in Conditional Formatting with custom formulas each using one of those small formulas, that should work. Just make sure that each of the rules has a different color format.

Upvote 0
Yes, I did set up three different rules. I am sure it is something very simple that I am missing, but this is my first time working with these.

Upvote 0
Maybe this...
=<=SMALL(A3:A10, 3)

Remember, CF only works on TRUE or FALSE, so if the formula evaluates to TRUE, the rule will trigger. If it is not true, it will not trigger.

I have found that if there are two "#2" values, it doesn't highlight the 3rd
do you mean it wont color the 3rd-smallest value, or it colors both 2nd-place values? Both of these will happen if you have 2 identical values in the 1st or 2nd place. You need to include a tie-breaker

Upvote 0