Vlook up and DV over 2 workbooks

abagnall

this is my first attempt at anything like this, i am wanting to link two workbooks together with the aim that when a option is selected in a drop down menu in workbook "band form", it auto populates the rest of the form with data from the second workbook "showsales2013". date, ticket price, support acts etc etc.......

as a example,
the drop down in workbook "band form" is a list of bands (list data also taken from showsales2013) ive got this bit working ok (i think :) ), each band is playing on a different day so i have used this formula to get the "date" from "showsales2013"

<code>=VLOOKUP(F4,[ShowSales2013.xls]Sheet1!$1:$65536,4,0)</code></pre>
this seems to work until i insert a new row and/or column (in the showsales wookbook - which needs doing from time to time as new bands get booked to play), then i get #REF in the date cell on the "band form blank".
i used pretty much the same formula to pull the other needed data (price/support acts etc ) from showsale2013, and the result is the same, #REF.

ive got the two excel files which im willing to attach for people to have a look at, but i cant seem to find how to attach them,

any help would be great.
thanks in advance
andy

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
I can't reproduce your #REF! error in Excel 2003. Inserting a row on Sheet1 of ShowSales2013.xls has no effect on your formula because it is referencing the entire worksheet.

Upvote 0
im using 2007, if that make a diff. ive just tried again and got the same #ref error.
as i say im new to this, i tried to set the formula out in a logical way to me, learning it for the first time, thinking that if i included the whole sheet it would work when extra rows/colmuns are added. im not sure why its not working!
but thinking about it all day, ive concluded that i was wrong to begin with, the columns need to be "set" the the formula.