VLOOKUP: if match found insert cooresponding data in the same row, different column

lacey026

This is my first post...an ANY forum. I am also pretty new to formulas other than your basics. Here's my problem:

I used vlookup (with help) to find out if the vendor part number I have for a part matched the actual vendor part number for the same part. If it matched, it inserted that vendor part number.

Instead of it inserting the vendor part number when it is matched, I need a it to be replaced with my part number for that part. That data will come from the same row, different column that the vendor part number was located on.

I hope this makes sense. TIA!

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.
I don't know if I should add that my part number is located on a different sheet in the same workbook than the formula is located.

Upvote 0
OK, so what is the VLOOKUP formula you are using at the moment? You just need to tweak it:

=VLOOKUP(lookup_value,lookup_array,column,false)

lookup_value - no change
lookup_array - needs to encompass the column where the data you wish to return is, so may need to be wider
column - needs to change to the number of the column within the lookup_array where the new return value is located, e.g. in the array $A$1:$D$8, A is column 1, B is 2, C is 3 and D is 4.

Upvote 0
OK, so what is the VLOOKUP formula you are using at the moment? You just need to tweak it:

=VLOOKUP(lookup_value,lookup_array,column,false)

lookup_value - no change
lookup_array - needs to encompass the column where the data you wish to return is, so may need to be wider
column - needs to change to the number of the column within the lookup_array where the new return value is located, e.g. in the array $A$1:$D$8, A is column 1, B is 2, C is 3 and D is 4.

This is the formula I'm using: =VLOOKUP(TEXT(G57,0),'sheet 5'!J:J,1,FALSE)