When I add the following code, a previously well running macro freezes

theblacknight

Code:
Set crange = Worksheets(3).Range(Worksheets(3).Cells(5, 2), Worksheets(3).Cells(2, 5).End(xlDown))
    Set prange = Worksheets(4).Cells(1, 26)

crange.Copy
    prange.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues

Set crange = Worksheets(3).Range(Worksheets(3).Cells(203, 2), Worksheets(3).Cells(203, 2).End(xlDown))
    Set prange = Worksheets(4).Range(1, 26).End(xlDown).Offset(1, 0)
    crange.Copy
    prange.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues
    Set crange = Nothing
    Set prange = Nothing
(sorry for the poor formatting- but I'm posting from my office and I can't download any addins etc)

Any idea why the above code would cause a macro to copy paste different columns? All I want to do is select two ranges and paste them into another sheet. The wierd thing is when I press escape, the line where the break occurs is not in this section of the code. btw I'm a total newbie at programming so sorry if this is a stupid question.

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Convert text numbers to real numbers
Select a column containing text numbers. Press Alt+D E F to quickly convert text to numbers. Faster than "Convert to Number"
Do you by any chance have Worksheet_Change event code that is being triggered by this macro?

Upvote 0
I don't think so; none of my work involves Worksheet_Change event code.

Although I do have bloomberg terminal addins for functions (live data feeds) , I am currently executing the code from a computer without a terminal.

btw I am searching for a way to copy paste two ranges which can change in size (number of rows changes) to another sheet. Have there been previous questions asked about this topic (am currently searching the forums).

Upvote 0
I would imagine so - it's a fairly common question.

What is the code that shows up when you debug then?

Upvote 0
I'm sorry Rorya, it appears i was executing bad code elsewhere (which seems to be fixed now).