Monte Carlo Method

Jimeshia

Can anyone help? I am needing to write a code in monte carlo method to solve the integral from 0 to 1 for the function e^-xdx. I am struggling with this project. This code should start with an amount of 10,000 and increase by 5,000 until the difference between the answers is less than 0.001. I am VERY NEW to VBA and need help. Thanks.

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Re: Monte Carlo Method Help

This sounds like an assignment? What's the actual question being asked?

Have you written any code to get this started?

Upvote 0

Yes, this is an assignment and no I have not. The only thing we have done is watched some videos and this is PROJECT 1. I have researched for weeks for this and just truly need help. I know the basic of vba but nothing about this.

Upvote 0

1. Design an algorithm and write a code to calculate the integral from 0 to 1 for the function e^-xdx
    by using random number generator and the region under the graph of f(x) inscribed in a rectangle [a, b] × [c, d] where c = 0 and d fmax. Notation: fmax is the maximum value of f(x) on interval [a,b].
  2. Use the fact that the ratio of randomly generated points below the graph of f(x) to the total number of points is the same as the ratio between the respective areas.
  3. Use the formulas
    x = a + (b a)RND()

and to generate a random point (x, y) in the rectangle [a, b]×[c, d] for any interval

y = c + (d c)RND() [a,b] on X-axis, and any interval [c,d] on Y-axis.

1. Sketch of the algorithm. The first total number of generated random points is Ntotal=10,000. The first approximation of integral is S1. Then increment: Ntotal = Ntotal +5000; calculate next approximation S2. Continue sequential increment of Ntotal to obtain approximations S3, S4, S5, ....