How to open a file using inputbox to type file name

ksmallfoot

Hello!

I am quite new to VBA, but I am trying to create a program that allows me to push a button that asks for a file name, and after entering the file name, it opens up the file I requested. I have attempted this here,

Sub Start()
Filename = InputBox("File Name:")

Workbooks.Open Filename

Range("A3:SU11").Cut

Range("A3:SU11").PasteSpecial.Transpose

End Sub

when I ran this code, it said that it could not find a file with that name. I am not sure what I am doing wrong!

I hope someone can help, thank you!

-K

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
Welcome to MrExcel.

First, are you typing in the file name including its extension? Second, are you typing in the folder path? Without the folder path Excel will look for the file name in the Application.DefaultFilePath folder and if it isn't there you'll get the error.

Rather than InputBox and typing in the full file name including its folder path, have a look at Application.GetOpenFilename and Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogOpen) which allow you to browse to and select the file to be opened.

Upvote 0
Welcome to MrExcel.

First, are you typing in the file name including its extension? Second, are you typing in the folder path? Without the folder path Excel will look for the file name in the Application.DefaultFilePath folder and if it isn't there you'll get the error.

Rather than InputBox and typing in the full file name including its folder path, have a look at Application.GetOpenFilename and Application.FileDialog(msoFileDialogOpen) which allow you to browse to and select the file to be opened.

John,

I like the idea of selecting a file much more, thank you!!! If I was going about copying a range of data from the selected file and transposing it, what do you think would be the best option?

I really appreciate the help.

-K