Application.SendKeys "{TAB 2}" does not work

Nelson78

Hello everybody.

I'm a newbie about automating external application via sendkeys method.

Now, I can get in the external application, I can write (for example "5"), but I cannot shift the focus two fields on the right (as I manually do without problem). I mean: nothing happens.

Maybe somebody could suggest the solution.

Thank you in advance.

Code:
Application.SendKeys ("5")

Application.Wait (Now + TimeValue("0:00:05"))

Application.SendKeys "{TAB 2}", True

Last edited:

Kenneth Hobson

I avoid SendKeys() solutions as-much-as possible. It is all about timing and focus. Besides a time wait, one can do a loop wait if one knows the Window's handle. That can be found by API routines sometimes.

Two tab keys works for me.
Code:
Sub Main()
  Dim rc As Integer
  With Application
    rc = Shell("notepad", vbNormalFocus)
    .Wait (Now + TimeValue("0:00:01"))
    .SendKeys ("5"), True
    '.Wait (Now + TimeValue("0:00:05"))
    .SendKeys "{TAB 2}", True
    .SendKeys ("6"), True
  End With
End Sub

Nelson78

I avoid SendKeys() solutions as-much-as possible. It is all about timing and focus. Besides a time wait, one can do a loop wait if one knows the Window's handle. That can be found by API routines sometimes.

Two tab keys works for me.
Code:
Sub Main()
  Dim rc As Integer
  With Application
    rc = Shell("notepad", vbNormalFocus)
    .Wait (Now + TimeValue("0:00:01"))
    .SendKeys ("5"), True
    '.Wait (Now + TimeValue("0:00:05"))
    .SendKeys "{TAB 2}", True
    .SendKeys ("6"), True
  End With
End Sub
In all my life, I have regularly avoided Sendkeys() solution in order to grasp data somewhere else.

But now the task is harder: I have to grasp data from a SIEBEL CRM in which I get in using user and password: so, it has not a url, I have to deal with Citrix, a certificate, etc etc. And furthermore, I cannot detect anything about the activity via Fiddler.