Basic VBA question re creating generic macro

bstack

Hi Guys
I'm no VBA coder but have used the 'Record Macro' tool to create a basic macro in my Personal Macro Workbook in Excel to tidy up some excel exports that are regularly dumped from one our doc management systems. The recorded script is as below. My basic question is this: I want to be able to run this macro across whatever workbook I have open regardless of the workbook/worksheet name but by default the 'Record Macro' tool appends the name of the workbook and worksheet that I was working in when I recorded the macro. Is there a generic syntax I can use instead?
Thanks!
Code:
    ActiveSheet.Range("Name of file[#All]").RemoveDuplicates Columns _
        :=Array(4, 5), Header:=xlYes
    ActiveWindow.LargeScroll ToRight:=1
    ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("Name of worksheet").ListObjects( _
        "Name of file").Sort.SortFields.Clear
    ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("Name of worksheet").ListObjects( _
        "Name of file").Sort.SortFields.Add Key:=Range( _
        "Name of file[[#All],[Email]]"), SortOn:=xlSortOnValues, Order _
        :=xlAscending, DataOption:=xlSortTextAsNumbers
    With ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("Name of worksheet").ListObjects( _
        "Name of file").Sort
        .Header = xlYes
        .MatchCase = False
        .Orientation = xlTopToBottom
        .SortMethod = xlPinYin
        .Apply
    End With

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
but by default the 'Record Macro' tool appends the name of the workbook and worksheet that I was working in when I recorded the macro. Is there a generic syntax I can use instead?