Change cell number/reference, but not sheet name in a macro

Hambone81

Hi, first post. Need to change the cell number in a macro, but not the sheet name. For example, I recorded a macro for the action I want- changing formula to Sheet1!C5 to Sheet1!C4 and Sheet1!C43 to Sheet1C42 (see resulting code below). But what if I want to run this in cell that pulls from a different sheet with the same cell reference changes? Such as changing Sheet2!C5 to Sheet2!C4 and Sheet2!C43 to Sheet2!C42? I have to do this every quarter in about 500 cells, so I'm trying to find a faster way. I'm an excel newbie so take it easy on me. Thanks for all your help.

Original recorded macro:

Sub Macro3()
'
' Macro3 Macro
'

'
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=sheet1!R4C3"
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Range("A1").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=sheet1!R42C3"
ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Range("A1").Select
End Sub

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.
Hambone,

welcome to the forum.....

VBA has the ability to loop thru sheets to collect data.

So would you like a formula in the cells or just a value?

You can rerun the macro/VBA code if you make changes and need to update your data.

FarmerScott

Upvote 0