Conditional formatting Question

Lmaonade

How do I set up conditional formatting for all of the cells between I and R to change to Green if the cell is above the target cells (C) and red if it's below. I can't seem to find a way without setting it up for every single row individually. I realise this is probably something simple but I am quite new to this.

Thanks,
Andy

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Office Version
Platform
Windows
Select the whole range that you want to apply it to at once, and then write the formula as it applies to the very first cell in your selection.
Be sure to use absolute range references for the parts of the range that you do not want to float/change.

For example, if the first cell in your selection is I2, and you are checking to see if it is above the value in C2, the Conditional Formatting formula would look something like:
Code:
=I2>$C2
By "locking down" the column reference (C), that ensures that all other cells in your range will allows look at column C also.

See here if you are unfamiliar with locking down parts of range references: http://www.cpearson.com/excel/relative.aspx

Muhammad_Usman

Dear Lmaonade! Simple Select Range From I2 : R35 or where you data ends,

>> Go to Conditional Formatting
>> Select Greater Then
>> Select C2 in which there are target Value
>> Type $C2 instead simple C2.
>> You will got you desired Result.

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
dmcmaste

This Week's Hot Topics

• help please
    SORRY NOT ANY GOOD AT EXCEL SO HELP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED this formula is in a sheet called ignore...
  • two formulas needed
    Hello, I'll try my best to explain this: First formula needed in Sheet1 cell A2: If Sheet1 cell B2 = Sheet2 cell B2 then return a 1. If not then...
  • Dynamic Counts