Creating Working Archive Document

red_jon

Hi, im pretty new to excel and vba so please bare with me.

I want to create an archive workbook where I can keep adding tabs every month for reporting purposes.

I only want to copy one particular tab every month from my master workbook into the archive document. This being named as the current month i.e. "January" "February" "March" and so on....

Can anybody guide me to a way of achieving this? I been searching everywhere for the solution.

Note: Having both documents open at the same time is not a problem but would prefer it not to be.

Your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,</SPAN>

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
Welcome to MrExcel.

To copy a worksheet into another workbook both source and target workbooks must be open. With the master workbook open, turn on the macro recorder, open the archive workbook and copy the worksheet. That should give you some VBA code that you can adapt.

Upvote 0
Hi Andrew,

Thankyou for your rapid response.

I have tried this method, however it overwrites the workbook everytime. I want the ability to keep adding worksheets to the archive workbook month on month without deleting. I have tried many methods and hit a brick wall..my minds gone blank.

Thanks,

Upvote 0
Example:<o:p></o:p>
<o:p> </o:p>
Its month January.....My master workbook has a sheet called "Summary Report". I want to then copy this particular sheet into a saved workbook called "Archive.xls" in 'My Documents' directory. The macro method works the first time but when it comes to February and I run the macro it removes January's report and replaces it with February's.<o:p></o:p>
I want to keep January's report and then add February's report in the next sheet and so on...<o:p></o:p>
I hope this has made things clearer.<o:p></o:p>

Upvote 0