Excel 2007 VBA Message Box with criteria

KJ2607

Hi I am VERY new to VBA and am starting to get confused!

I have a spreadsheet that monitors employees rest periods between shifts across a number of weeks I've started writing a very basic piece of code so if the employee has less than 12 hours rest, a message box will appear with a warning:

So far this is what I've done:

Sub RestHours()

If Range("I7") < #12:00:00 PM# Then

MsgBox "Candidate has had less than 12 hours rest since last shift worked. Please find another candidate to work this shift", vbOKOnly, "Unable to Use Candidate!"

Now this does work if I run the macro and then enter the data into cell I7, however I'm now stumped - How can I make it so that this message box pops up automatically when the data is entered into the cell without me have to go in and run the macro?

I also need the macro to run all the way down the I column (I7:I100) and across other columns which will eventually contain the same data i.e. M7:M100, Q7:Q100, all the way across to AT7:AT100? If its any help the columns have the same title (Total Rest Hours)

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
If it were me, I'd add an =IF formula in an unused column instead of VBA. Something like =IF(I1>=0.5,"Needs rest","ok"). The 0.5 is the numerical representation of 12:00:00 PM.

Tim

Upvote 0
Hi Tim

Thanks for the formula - I've already used conditional formatting to highlight the cell with a time less than 12.00PM red, but the people intending to use the spreadsheet want something to pop up - is there anyway for me to use data validation in an unused to column to create a pop up based on the data in another cell (in this case I7?)

Thanks

Upvote 0
Doesn't data validation on column I with an error alert work ? Can't see why conditional formatting would interfere with it, but maybe I'm not fully understanding your requirement.

Upvote 0