Excel as database question

njbeancounter

Board Regular
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Messages
154
I download an entire trial balance from our accounting software into excel. I then map out each account to create a balance sheet. Works like a charm...

However, I need to re-download a month that was corrected in the accounting software. While I can manually delete the rows and paste the new data, I obviously want to do it better.

I tried using Microsoft BI, but it slowed my PC to a crawl.

I started reading about using excel as a database management tool, but I haven't found how to easily update existing info with new info.

If someone can point me in a direction...I would appreciate it...

ty
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.

Logit

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
3,333
.
Depends on what you mean by "updating existing info".

If it will be a 'one time thing' perhaps just a copy / paste to the right area of the correct sheet.
If you are speaking in terms of doing a search for a term, locating that term and all the data attached to it which is populated to a row on
a worksheet ... perhaps a more involved approach using VBA macros would be in order.

???
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,646
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Any thoughts/possibility of actually using a "database" program, like Access, instead of Excel?
As you have discovered, you can use Excel as a database, but it doesn't necessarily work all that well, since Excel isn't really a database program.
 

njbeancounter

Board Regular
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Messages
154
Joe,
I thought about using access, but i have limited experience there...I am on the fence about the time needed to get get up to speed with access vs some type of cut and paste two or three times a month...
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,646
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
You are right, in order to design a well-working Access database, it would take some time to get up-to-speed, not just on Access, but on Relational Database Design (especially the Rules of Normalization).
But if performance is a major concern, it may be something to look into. Perhaps enlist the help of an Access consultant to help you set it up?
Like wise, you may be able to enlist an experienced Excel consultant to help you make your Excel "database" more efficient.
Just something to keep in mind.

If you want to try to do it yourself, that is fine, but I think you are going to need to provide more specific details in your questions (generic questions usually can only lead to generic replies, which may not help you that much).
 
Last edited:

njbeancounter

Board Regular
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Messages
154
I hear ya...on all points...

For now, I think forging ahead and tweaking as I go is the plan...the whole "re-downloading of data" might not be as much of an issue as the time it may take to automate the task...

thanks...
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,202
Messages
5,485,319
Members
407,496
Latest member
PttrsnMrgn

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top