Excel Macro programming unhide/hide a sheet based on a CALCULATED cell value

Bob Adam

Dear experts. I am new to Excel Macro and I would like to create an Excel Macro programming code so that it will unhide/hide one certain page based on a calculated cell value. More specifically, I would like to find a value "B1-A1" (A1 and B1 are dates), with a conditional statement on "C1" (explained below), if "B1-A1<180 (half a year)" then unhide the "Data page", if not then hide the "Data page".

The code I am currently using is :

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Not Application.Intersect(Target, Range("C1")) Is Nothing Then
If Range("C1").Value = 1 And Not IsEmpty(Range("C1")) Then
Sheets("Data Form").Visible = xlSheetVisible
Else
Sheets("Data Form").Visible = xlSheetHidden
End If
End If
End Sub

Here I am using a "IF statement" in cell C1, if B1-A1=<180 then C1=1 (unhide page), otherwise C1=0 (hide page). The PROBLEM I am having is the code does not run if the value in C1 is calculated ("1" or "0" based on "A1-B1" condition). But if I enter "1" or "0" from keyboard it works.

Please give me some help to solve this problem.

Many thanks in advance!!

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Hi, this should work, I feel like the code you posted is over-complicating things. Let me know if this would work, or why you are checking if the cell is empty.

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change()

If Sheets("enter your source sheet here").Range("C1").Value = 1 Then 'enter the source sheet
Else
End If

End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi,
welcome to forum
As you have discovered, Worksheet_Change event does not trigger when formula value changes.

To test if a cell containing a formula has been changed, one option would be to use the Calculation event but as this event has no Target argument, its use therefore, involves a bit of trickery like this:

Code: