Extract date, text, and value

MAP

Office Version
  1. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello Excel experts.
I am a beginner using Excel 2003... requesting help with a formula that will extract the date, certain text, and a dollar value from a string of text I get from a text file from my bank. I will be pasting the text into Excel 2003 starting in A1 and possibly down to A300.

example... A1 contains "04/21/2015______Account transfer______Transfer from CKH xxxx1234______$100.00______$1,100.00"

The date will always be the first 'column' in this string and has a fixed number of digits. The 'type' will be next preceded by a few spaces and it will have various character length. The 'description' will come next, again preceded by a few spaces, and it will also have various character length. The next 'column' contains the debit or credit value. The last 'column' is the balance value - both of these last 'columns' are separated by a few spaces.

I would like to know what formula I can put in B1 to extract the date from A1, in C1 to extract the Type from A1, in D1 to extract the description from A1, and in E1 to extract just the debit/credit value from A1. I have no use of the balance value.

The tricky part for a novice like me is the variable length of 'type' and 'description', and ultimately the non-fixed location of the debit/credit value.

I will appreciate your assistance with an Excel 2003 formula because I have no clue how to use VBA. However, if you would be kind to offer a VBS script that can read the text file and extract the information to fill in the cells... and help me understand it, it will help me as I attempt to learn the marvels of the spreadsheet.

I thank you for you kind assistance:)

Last edited:

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.