Find identical value of cell thru all sheets. Sum the value to the left of that cell.

Sylcarry87

Hello. I have a master Bill Of Material sheet that I use to make BOMs, as options change for the order I delete sheets for those options not used. Each BOM will have far less data then the master, and some cells will change based on the needs of that particular job.

The BOM has multiple part numbers across sheets that are identical(part numbers). I cannot guarantee that the cells will be in the exact same place(row) for custom sheets I create. The quantity of each part number(cell to the left) changes as well, this is what I want to be summed up.

When I enter this data into our purchasing system I cannot create duplicate part numbers, thus I have to (tediously) find the previous entry and update the quantity. This is what I am trying to fix.

Here is some sample data: The first 3 columns are always stand alone columns with an item number I reference in drawings, the quantity that I want to sum up based upon, the part number that may or may not exist across multiple sheets. D and E are merged as well as f,g,h, and i. But these can be ignored!

ABCDEFGHIJ
ITEM #QTYPART NO.MANUFACTURERDESCRIPTIONITEM
140953031720PHOENX CONTCT28-12AWG STS 2.5-TWIN TERMINAL
14183031733PHOENX CONTCT28-12AWG STS 2.5-TWIN GROUND TERMINAL
14233031762PHOENX CONTCT28-12AWG STS 2.5-TWIN TERMINAL END COVER
1430.253033710PHOENX CONTCT28-12AWG JUMPER STRIP
144150800886PHOENX CONTCTTERMINAL END ANCHOR

<colgroup><col><col><col><col><col><col span="2"><col><col><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

If it is a matter of finding the duplicate part numbers and creating a "SUM" sheet that tallies these up I could be okay with that. My unicorn would be for excel to find duplicate part numbers without any input from me and total up the quantities tab for each duplicate found, in a "SUM" sheet, which will now exist in every BOM.

To summarize: I have part number 3031720 in sheets 1, 3, 4, and 7.