Formula Disappears Once It Calculates

kdavidtaylor

Hi. I'm new to Excel, using Office Professional Plus (2013). Within my spreadsheet, I have a series of progressive dates to be used in as a timeline. Ultimately, what I need to accomplish is that when I change one date, all the proceeding entries update according to my timeline criteria (in this case 3 weeks or 21 days). I created a SUM formula that worked but only calculated one time. Once the calculation completes, the cell drops the formula. I need this to be constant as the dates often change. How do I get the formula to maintain? Further more, is there a better method to accomplish the task at hand other than the SUM option? Thanks!

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Once the calculation completes, the cell drops the formula

Please elaborate, the formula doesn't normally get dropped. The cell shows the result but the formula is still there. When you click on the cell is the formula not showing in the formula bar (above your cells it has a fx sign next to it).
Is your calculation set to automatic?

Upvote 0
The formula literally disappears. The formula bar only shows the contents of the cell and when I make changes to said cell, nothing happens - there is no formula. Yes, automatic is set.

Upvote 0
Afraid it's behaviour I haven't come across (at least to my memory) unless there is worksheet.code. I take it that there isn't?
Is it only happening to certain cells and/or only the one sheet?

Last edited:
Upvote 0