Formula help with vlookup or index match

blaineschultz

I have a master data source sheet 'msf12' tht contains a column with the names of companies. i have a second sheet that contains a list of all the companies names, their region, zip code ect. sheet name 'companies'. I am trying to create a formula that will look at the companies name and then generate their respective region served in a new column on the same sheet using the reference sheet 'companies' however, my results have either been accurate up to around row 100 when the regions column starts giving row references that are off by 1-3 rows. I tried to combat this by using index match but in that case i only get a few regions and the rest of the cells display N/A. 'companies' is sorted in ascending order both fields are text values i feel like i have tried everything. here is a quick example.

My main source that has the companies name- I need to create a column that shows the corresponding region. Right now I have name/Service type

Martz Transport - Wikes - Sacramento
CTC
Martz Transport - Wikes - VegasCTC

MTR Western
CTC
Abbott Trails
CTC
Mlaker TransCTC

<tbody>
</tbody>

The reference sheet is like this.. Company name/zip/region(the cell i need) is in col E

Martz Transport - Wikes - Sacramento94445Southern Cal
Martz Transport - Wikes - Vegas74665Western
MTR Western37382Great Lakes
Abbott Trails83727NY Metro
Mlaker Trans88888Southeast

<tbody>
</tbody>

Right now i have this formula and it works for the companies up until Martz..
=LOOKUP([@operator],'Bus region Source1'!$A$2:$A$243,'Bus region Source1'!$E$2:$E$243)

Any way to make this work??

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)