generating random integers that are correlated and summed to equal a given value

iotapsi321

Hello. I am a novice at excel and have spent more time than I'd like to admit searching for a solution to my question. I want to create a fake dataset for two variables and I alos want to calculate Chronbach's alpha (i.e., reliability score) of those items. I need this information because I will be teaching research methods and I've found that students get a better understanding of stats/methods concepts when they have an applied example.

I want to create a variable that is measured with 6 items (likert-type scale; so a number for each column) with items 1-5 having a range of 1-7 and the 6th item having a range of 1-10. When the items are summed the variable scores can range from 6-45. I would also like to change these values depending on a desired Chronbach's alpha level, such as .7, .2, or even 1.0. The second variable is 12 items than range from 1-5.

I failed miserably at doing this on my own. I tried using the randbetween function and multiplying each value by .7 (a predefined alpha level) and hoped the numbers would come close to a pre-defined summed value. I'm not certain of everyone's expertise so I'll state my problem based on some common language I've seen while searching for a solution. I want to generate random integers in columns A1 - A6 that are intercorrelated so that these integers will equal the number in cell A8.

Sorry for the long post. I wanted to be really clear. Thank you for time.

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
Welcome to the forum!