Matching data from 2 sources, based on two conditions using multiple VLOOKUP and arrays

agarman

Hi all,

Huge thanks in advance for anyone who spends any time on this. I have been a spectator of this forum for quite sometime and have been helped out immensely by people's queries and solutions... This is my first time actually posting so I hope my query (and potential solution) is helpful to someone else! Here goes...

I am trying to match data from two spreadsheet sources based on two common criteria. To put the problem into context, I am trying to allocate our company cars fuel bills to the appropriate division/job number. The sorted incoming data consists of:

Spreadsheet 1 (S1) from Fuel Provider: Column A - Car Registration # ; Column B - Date of Fuel Purchase ; Column C - Cost of Fuel.

Spreadsheet 2 (S2) from our company resource allocation schedule: Column A - Car Registration # ; Column B - Allocation Start Date ; Column C - Allocation End Date ; Column D - Job/Division Number.

So, if the car registrations in the two Column As match, and the date of the purchase (S1:Column B) falls between the dates in S2:Columns B and C, I need to return the Job/Division number to S1 so that the cost in S1:Column C can be charged to the right account.

The logic seemed simple enough to me at first, but having tried numerous combinations of VLOOKUP and IFs in arrays and a couple of INDEX, MATCH combos (although I'd be the first to admit I'm a complete novice with the latter functions), I always come back to the same problems... 1) VLOOKUP will only return a single match for the Car Registration when in fact there instances of multiple results (since one car may work on 2 or more jobs simultaneously); 2) I can't seem to get the IF function to work properly in an array, in order to scan the Job allocation periods to match the right purchase date.