Need help getting optimum split of a fuel delivery between tanks

Fastpat27

Hi All
New to this forum so not sure if it's the correct place to get help creating a spreadsheet. I tried an excel freelancer but they couldn't seem to make the calculations work proportionately. It's simple to do on paper but creating a formula seems to be more difficult. I'm not an expert on excel by any means but have a little knowledge.

Basically I want to divide a fuel delivery between 3 tanks in a ratio of 50:35:15 but I get stuck when one tank has more in it already than what is needed, it therefore tries to make me take fuel out by generating a minus total but that is not possible.

On paper it is simple as I take the total current stock in the 3 tanks, add on the delivery total, and divide the overall total into the ratios. If tank 1 (50%) is over allocated (each tank holds 21000lts), the amount over allocated goes into tank 2 (35%). If Tank 2 is over allocated with the original 35% + tank 1 over allocation, then the remainder will go into tank 3 (15%)

This gives me the totals after delivery for each tank, I then subtract the current stock from this total and it give me the delivery required for each tank. Does this make sense?

So I start with the current stock, add the delivery and divide into the ratios, but tank 3 has more current stock in it than 15% so it starts me off with a minus figure which I can't figure out how to get around this.

This is probably hard to get your head around but I would appreciate any help if any one has any ideas.

Many Thanks
FP

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Hi Tony, thanks for your interest.