PowerPivot: How to calculate the MAX of three measures?

mikebutak

Hello Community,

I'm a newbie to powerpivot/dax.

I have created three measures: 2011 sales, 2012 sales, and 2013 sales (a simple calculation, sum sales where year = 2011, etc...)

I wish to create a 4th measure: 3-Yr Max Sales, which calculates the max of 2011 Sales, 2012 Sales, and 2013 Sales. I don't see how MAX, MAXA or MAXX can be used to accomplish this. I also have tried using a long if statement, "If 2011 is greater than 2012 and 2013, etc."

Any ideas??

Thank you,
Mike

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Hello Community,

I'm a newbie to powerpivot/dax.

I have created three measures: 2011 sales, 2012 sales, and 2013 sales (a simple calculation, sum sales where year = 2011, etc...)

I wish to create a 4th measure: 3-Yr Max Sales, which calculates the max of 2011 Sales, 2012 Sales, and 2013 Sales. I don't see how MAX, MAXA or MAXX can be used to accomplish this. I also have tried using a long if statement, "If 2011 is greater than 2012 and 2013, etc."

Any ideas??

Thank you,
Mike

I have discovered a very inelegant solution:

Just to review, I have 3 measures:
2011 Sales
2012 Sales
2013 Sales

I wish to create a 3-Yr Max.

I do so by a two-step process:

1. Create a fourth measure, Max of 2011 and 2012 Sales:=if([2011 Sales]>[2012 Sales],[2011 Sales],[2012 Sales])
2. Create a fifth measure, 3-Yr max Sales:=if([2013 Sales]>[Max of 2011 and 2012 Sales],[2013 Sales],[Max of 2011 and 2012 Sales])

Pretty dorky, but it gets me where I need to go.

Next question:
How to rank the results of that measure? (I could use rank in pivot table, but I'm wondering if I could create a rank measure in DAX.)

Thanks!
Mike

Upvote 0
You can use something like the following,

Code:
=IF(NOT(ISBLANK([Sales])),
IFERROR(
CALCULATE(
VALUES(Table2[Year]),
TOPN(
VALUES(Table2[Year]),