Retrieving number for calculation: VLOOKUP, LOOKUP, INDEX/MATCH or ????

LakeDog

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
First of all, thank you all for taking your time to share your expertise. It is appreciated. This is my first time posting, so apologies if I do something wrong. I've read the FAQ, so hopefully I won't!!

I have a worksheet that starts with several columns of numeric data that has about 2000 rows. That data is used to generate several columns of calculations. Two columns of calculations are similar and close to each other in value and actually the values "cross over" each other from time to time. Meaning one columns values becomes greater than the other, then later, the values in the second column increase and at some point are greater than the first. I have a formula that signals "alpha" when column 1 exceeds column 2, then "bravo" when column 2 >= column 1. That is all great, but the next step I want is tripping me up. Associated with each alpha/bravo is an original data value. I want to be able to subtract that number associated with alpha from the next bravo number in sequence. This is a stripped-down example to just give you a better idea of what I am asking.

A B C D
5 Bravo 5 -2 (5-7)
7 Alpha 7
9 Bravo 9 3 (9-6)
6 Alpha 6

I have tried a variety of VLOOKUP formulas, LOOKUP formulas and have not been able to consistently pull that number associated with alpha or bravo. The values are not sorted, nor can they be. Suspect it is syntax, but at this point I am unable to think clearly on it. Trying to learn INDEX and MATCH, but just learning. Appreciate any thoughts, insights or suggestions. Thank you!

Excel Facts

What is the last column in Excel?
Excel columns run from A to Z, AA to AZ, AAA to XFD. The last column is XFD.
I should mention that the last formula I was trying was:

=IF (B2="bravo",C2-VLOOKUP(B2,B3:C5000,2,false),"")

At this point, I'm so fried, couldn't tell you how I got here! LOL

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads