Specifying chart width and height Excel 2007+

Adam Feldman

I'm rather new to Excel VBA and to be totally honest, the object model throws me a bit. So any help that you are able to give would be greatly appreciated.

My environment: Win7 and Win8, Excel 2007, Excel 2010
I use a program called Advent Axys that embeds a chart within a frame in their application, and it allows for the execution of macros to style the chart. I would like to, using VBA, specify the maximum size of the chart (the dimensions of the frame in this application) in point. It should be noted, however, that my problems with my VBA exist both in standalone worksheets as well as the embedded in Axys.
The sheet has 1-5 items A1:A5 which are datatypes and values in B1:B5. This is used to generate a pie chart which resides in its sheet, Chart1. I have successfully done various manipulations on the chart after having used Charts(1).Activate, and then referencing ActiveChart from there on.

I have seen
Code:
Charts(1).Activate
ActiveChart.Parent.Width = 200
ActiveChart.Parent.Height = 200
referenced in various locations online as the way to do that, however, when I attempt to do that, I receive:
Code:
Run-time error '438': Object doesn't support this property or method.

Thanks in advance for your time and help.

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
You say that the chart resides in a chart sheet, and yet you want to change the size?!?!? But surely sizing only applies to charts embedded within a worksheet?

Upvote 0