standardising input form entries retrospectively

fingermouse

Board Regular
Hi,

I should start off by stating that im pretty much a complete novice in Access, but will attempt to explain the situation as best I can.

I have been tasked with creating pivot tables in excel via an external connection (an access database) I have managed to do this via Pivot Table > 'use an external data source' then choosing the table (s) I require.

My problem is that in these tables, there are a number of fields across all records where a number of people have input non-standardised entries eg: 'Case Opened', 'Case:Opened', 'Case - Opened' etc... Pretty much multiple ways of saying the same thing.

As a result, when I try to pivot the data, I get the individual outputs in terms of counts.

Going back into each field and standardising the text in each record isnt really an option as it would take weeks. Is there anyway I can edit the tables quickly and easily? Any help much appreciated! Cal.

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
I'd get started standardizing. It shouldn't take weeks. Pivot tables allow you to filter/group but I'm not sure if it could do this on text fields like this. Also, you'll have the same problem every time you try to create a new query on this data.

Upvote 0
I'd get started standardizing. It shouldn't take weeks. Pivot tables allow you to filter/group but I'm not sure if it could do this on text fields like this. Also, you'll have the same problem every time you try to create a new query on this data.

ok, thanks for the advice Xenou, much appreciated. Ill try and ensure that my colleagues stick to the standard text going forward!

Upvote 0
Okay. You will probably start with a Select Distinct XXX From Table to find out how many variations you have, then start grouping them together (possibly in Excel).