SUMIFS Using Dropdown Lists

Detectiveclem

Active Member
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hello,<o:p></o:p>
I have set up a successful SUMIFS using two criteria toprovide a total figure depending on the criteria selected from the drop-downlist for both criteria (=SUMIFS(B2:B40,A2:A40,F40,C2:C40,G40). <o:p></o:p>
Range B2:B40 contains number values<o:p></o:p>
Range A2:A40 contains any of the following; Complete,Awaits, On Going, Issue.<o:p></o:p>

Range C2:C40 contains any of the following; Team A, Team B,Team C, Team D<o:p></o:p>
Cell F40 (Contains the following drop down text: - Complete,Awaits, On Going, Issue). <o:p></o:p>
Cell G40 (Contains the following drop down text: - Team A,Team B, Team C, Team D)<o:p></o:p>
All relatively straight forward so far, however I want tohave the ability of including the word ALL in both drop-down lists, which wouldthen include all the criteria field data. <o:p></o:p>
I.E. If Criteria 1 is selected to ALL and Criteria 2 is TeamC then the result will show the total of all fields for Team C only. And soforth.<o:p></o:p>
However as none on the data range includes the text ‘ALL’ I obviouslyget a zero result. Is there any way I can achieve this by changing the formulaor by using wildcards, or by some other means?<o:p></o:p>
Grateful for any assistance in this matter. <o:p></o:p>
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)

cunningAce

Board Regular
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
86
Hi,

Add all to your drop down list and use the below formula for your results cell,
Should do the trick

=IF(F40="All",SUMIF($C$2:$C$40,$G$40,B2:B40),SUMIFS(B2:B40,A2:A40,F40,C2:C40,G40))
 

cunningAce

Board Regular
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
86
Just realised you want to be able to select 'All' for both criteria,
In this case, Add an 'All' selection to both drop down lists and use the following formula in your results cell.

=IF(AND($F$40="All",$G$40="All"),SUM($B$2:$B$40),IF($F$40="All",SUMIF($C$2:$C$40,$G$40,$B$2:$B$40),IF($G$40="All",SUMIF($A$2:$A$40,$F$40,$B$2:$B$40),SUMIFS($B$2:$B$40,$A$2:$A$40,$F$40,$C$2:$C$40,$G$40))))
 

Detectiveclem

Active Member
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Thank you Cunnyace, I will try it later, but really appreciate your help.
 

Detectiveclem

Active Member
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS

ADVERTISEMENT

Hello again cunningAce,

Just tried your formula and it works brilliantly. Thank you for taking the time to resolve my issue.

Very much appreciated.
 

Detectiveclem

Active Member
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hi Aladin, sorry for the delay in replying. Your formula works perfectly. Thank you
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,521
Messages
5,596,652
Members
414,083
Latest member
Mrsash

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top