SUMPRODUCT multiple tabs and multiple columns for text

Jeffers1984

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to this whole Excel thing, but now I have a huge headache trying to figure this puppy out, so any help you can offer would be awesome.

I have an excel sheet with 6 tabs, all containing different data, some text and some numerical.

I need to perfect this formula to cross reference whether an email has was 'Inbound' or 'Pro-active' and if the customer was a new contact or a repeat customer.

I need to search column "D" for the word 'Inbound' on the "Emails" tab and column "E" with the letter "Y" again on the "Emails" tab

So just to clarify:

Column D only contains Text, which can only be 'Inbound' or 'Pro-Active'
Column E only contains text and that is limited to 'Y' and 'N'.

I have tried a few different formula and no luck so far.

=SUMPRODUCT((Emails!E:E="Y")*(Emails!D:D="Inbound")
=SUM(IF(Emails!D:D="Inbound",IF(E:E="Y",1,0),0))
=COUNTIF(Emails!E:E,"Y")AND COUNTIF(Emails!D:D,"Inbound”)
=SUMPRODUCT((Emails!D:D="Inbound"))*( Emails!E:E="Y")))
=SUMPRODUCT((Emails!E:E="Y")*(Emails!D:D="Inbound")

These all come back with either #VALUE! or #NUM!

Any help you can give me would be great!

I hope that all makes sense.

Thanks

Matt.

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
The likely problem is that the Sumproduct and SUM(IF formulas cannot use entire column refs like A:A. Must use FINITE ranges like A1:A1000

Try

=SUMPRODUCT((Emails!E1:E1000="Y")*(Emails!D1:D1000="Inbound"))

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board.

What result are you looking for? A count of the records that meet the criteria specified? If so, try:

=SUMPRODUCT(--(Emails!E1:E100="Y"),--(Emails!D1:D100="Inbound"))

Change ranges to suit.

Matty

Upvote 0