Switching characters around in VBA

henry1972

I need to switch characters around (namely £ so it sits before the numbers which proceeds it, and taking account of any decimal place). So if I have a instance of 100£ or 75.50£ to use VBA code to switch it to £100 and £75.50.

The numbers are just examples but hopefully it illustrates it could be any price. Not all prices will have this problem, some will be correct to start with. I need this to work for the whole of column B. Could anyone help? I'm new to VBA and I'm not sure where to start with this one.

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
delete the £ and format the cell as currency

Upvote 0
I don't see why you need vba for this (especially as you aren't familiar with it. So a formula method.
Click column C insert a new column, put the formula below in C2 and drag down, Copy/Paste Column C as values, delete column B.

=IF(RIGHT(B2,1)="£",RIGHT(B2,1)&LEFT(B2, LEN(B2)-1),B2)

or

Click column C insert a new column, put the formula below in C2 and drag down, Copy/Paste Column C as values, delete column B and as mole999 has suggested format as currency if £ is our regional setting.

=IF(RIGHT(B2,1)="£",LEFT(B2, LEN(B2)-1),B2)+0

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thank you mole999 and MARK858 for getting back to me so quickly. I should also add the column in question contains strings which may or may not contain the pricing mentioned in my original question. My apologies, I should have mentioned that. I tried the formula and it didn't change the order but I'm guessing it's because I failed to mention this piece of information. I have used VBA code for some other stuff that I've done but it's very basic so if I have the code (or can be pointed along the right lines) I know where to add it.

Upvote 0