Trouble linking fields together in one table

dbass

First let me apologize for this posting. I am an Access noob, with little intention of mastering it. However, I'm very savvy with these kinds of things normally, and have passed my frustration threshold. I am fairly certain that this is a very basic question, but so far can only find info on linking two or more table together, rather than forcing information from a single table to stick together...

I need to create 4.75x2.5 in. labels using MS Access. I need to insert an image behind the text, so I believe that the Label Wizard option is not going to work.

I have created a Table containing all of my master information, which consists of the following fields:

*Item - Literally the name of the product, up to 50 characters. This is the field I need to be able to sort by.

*Allergens – A list of all associated Allergens by item, up to 255 characters. I need to link this field to the Item field.

*Vegan – Whether an item is vegan or not, only 1 character. I need this field to link to the Item field.

I have created a Report that creates a label for each Item, with the associated Allergens and the Vegan information. Again, the labels have an image behind the text. I can print 8 on a page, and get a complete set from my master Table (described above). Beautiful, no?

I need to create a Table or Query that allows me pull the information from my master Table, for some of the items. I.e., if my master Table contains ‘Apples’, ‘Pears’, ‘Bananas’, and ‘Oranges’, I may want to create labels only for ‘Apples’ and ‘Oranges’. So, I want a Table or Query where I can simply type ‘Apples’ in one field and 'Oranges' in another. Then I plan to attach this new Table or Query to a new Report, allowing me to print single items like the Report described above.

Now here is the issue that I keep running into: I cannot force a Report, Table or Query (for these single labels) to pull in the associated Allergen and Vegan information.