VBA Help - Hide rows based on a drop down list selection

Geordiegirl83

Hi All,

I'm a total novice when it comes to VBA and i have been watching a number of tutorials but cant quite get the scripted i need to make my spreadsheet work.

I have a dropped down in cell D16 with various text (all, essential, desirable, mandatory, general)

I have a corresponding table below the menu box where Column A21 - A40 contains abbreviations of those in the menu drop down list (Ess, Des, Man, Gen) but not in any specific order and will duplicate multiple times within the cell range.

I would the table to auto hide any row not corresponding to the option selected in the drop down, but also keeping any that says 'Man' visible at all times.

Any help would be AMAZING! as i have been trying to do this for 2 days :/

Thanks in advance

Hi,
You cannot have two Worksheet_Change for the same sheet module ... they do need to be combined in ONE Event macro:
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
' Combined Event Macro
If Target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Intersect(Target, Range("E15", "D16")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If Target.Address = "$D$16" Then Application.Run ("FilterMacro")
If Target.Address = "$E$15" Then Application.Run ("FilterMacro2")
End Sub

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
Hi,
You cannot have two Worksheet_Change for the same sheet module ... they do need to be combined in ONE Event macro:
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
' Combined Event Macro
If Target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Intersect(Target, Range("E15", "D16")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If Target.Address = "$D$16" Then Application.Run ("FilterMacro")
If Target.Address = "$E$15" Then Application.Run ("FilterMacro2")
End Sub
Thanks James, that seems to work brilliantly.