VBA to open workbook, select enable macros in dialogue box and select update links in dialogue box.

ExceL0ver

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hello all,

I am on a Mac therefore cannot use Power Query as a solution and avoid what I am trying to do.

I have a master workbook that is linked to over 40 other workbooks and draws a set of data from each of them. These workbooks also contain links to other workbooks. I have written a macro that updates the links in the master workbook when the file locations of the other workbooks change, however I also have to open and close each workbook the master workbook refers to so that the data gets updated (meaning I also have to answer the prompt to allow/disallow macros and the prompt to update links, for each file). I have attempted to add to my existing code to automate this but haven't succeeded in getting this to work.

What code should I use so that it opens a file, skips the dialogue box to allow macros, selects the update links option, then closes the file and repeats for each file?

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
There's no code to automatically bypass the "Run Macro" button or all malicious code would just use that and infect the world. lol
Not recommended, but you can set your system to run all macros. Windows versions have options to run digitally signed copies of code, but, from what I see on the interwebs, it looks like Macs may be an all or nothing kinda thing.
Change this setting at your own risk.

Activate Macros in Excel on Mac​

To turn on Excel macros on your Mac, first, launch the Excel app.
In Excel, click Excel > Preferences > Security & Privacy. Then, turn on the “Enable All Macros (Not Recommended; Potentially Dangerous Code Can Run)” option.

Upvote 0
Thank you for replying!