Vlookup and Sum across multiple tabs

tfowlerusa

I have a “Master Parts List” sheet where Part Numbers start in A2 and Part Description starting in B2. I have ~ 25 Sheets each with a different name where there are columns in each. I want to match the Part Number & Description to the Master Part List and sum the total Quantity of parts from E6:E90 from each tab to the corresponding Part Number in the Master Parts List tab. I was trying the following formula but getting #NAME error. I got this from another thread just can't seem to get it to work.

=SUMPRODUCT(SUMIFS(INDIRECT("'"&SHEETS&"'!'E6:E60"),INDIRECT("'"&SHEETS&"'!B6:B90"),A2,INDIRECT("'"&SHEETS&"'!C6:C90"),B2))

Master Parts List : A2 = Part Numbers
B2 = Part Description
C2 = Quantity

Sheet 1 OMCTS : B6:B90 = Part Number
C6:C90 = Description
E6:E90 = Quantity

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
That should be:

=SUMPRODUCT(SUMIFS(INDIRECT("'"&SHEETS&"'!E6:E90"),INDIRECT("'"&SHEETS&"'!B6:B90"),A2,INDIRECT("'"&SHEETS&"'!C6:C90"),B2))

Does this succeed?

Upvote 0
Assuming part numbers are unique
The relevant sheet names are in the range named Sheets.

Excel 2010
ABCD
1Part NumberDescriptionQuantity
212ABC1212
1a
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
C2=SUMPRODUCT(SUMIF(INDIRECT("'"&Sheets&"'!B6:B90"),A2,INDIRECT("'"&Sheets&"'!E6:E90")))
D2=SUMPRODUCT(SUMIFS(INDIRECT("'"&Sheets&"'!E6:E90"),INDIRECT("'"&Sheets&"'!B6:B90"),A2,INDIRECT("'"&Sheets&"'!C6:C90"),B2))
Named Ranges
NameRefers ToCells
Sheets='1a'!$L$1:$L$2

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Part numbers are unique. I tired the formula and got #NAME ? error. I am not sure the the Workbook Defined Names are, is this something I need to add for the formula to work?

Upvote 0
Part numbers are unique. I tired the formula and got #NAME ? error. I am not sure the the Workbook Defined Names are, is this something I need to add for the formula to work?